Boris Johnson extends lead in Tory leadership race to replace PM May

Boris Johnson extends lead in Tory leadership race to replace PM May
Text size Aa Aa

Former foreign secretary Boris Johnson has extended his lead in the Conservative Party leadership race to replace Theresa May.

He secured 126 votes from Tory MPs in the second ballot of the contest to succeed Mrs May as leader of the Conservative Party and UK Prime Minister.

Boris Johnson's successor Jeremy Hunt came second and there are now five candidates left in the competition. They will take part in a televised debate on the BBC on Tuesday evening.

Of the remaining five Conservative leadership candidates, foreign secretary Jeremy Hunt got 46 votes, environment secretary Michael Gove got 41 votes, international development secretary Rory Stewart got 37 votes, home secretary Sajid Javid got 33 votes, while former Brexit secretary Dominic Raab got 30 votes and is eliminated from the contest as he did not get the required 33 votes to remain in the race.

Once the list of candidates is reduced to just two they will be put before members of the Conservative Party to decide.

Euronews is no longer accessible on Internet Explorer. This browser is not updated by Microsoft and does not support the last technical evolutions. We encourage you to use another browser, such as Edge, Safari, Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.