This content is not available in your region

2019 Rugby World Cup match schedule

2019 Rugby World Cup match schedule
Text size Aa Aa

The organisers of the 2019 Rugby World Cup have announced the schedule for all 48 matches at the ninth tournament to be held in Asia for the first time. Teams will compete for the coveted Webb Ellis Cup, named after the man credited with inventing rugby football.

Hosts Japan will open against a yet to be determined European side in Pool A, most likely Romania, with Ireland next on their schedule.

World champions New Zealand will kick off their title defence with a heavyweight clash against South Africa, the only first round match between former tournament winners.

In the ‘Group of Death’ Pool C, 2003 champions England will open against Tonga, while three times runners up France will begin their campaign against Argentina.

The 48 matches will be spread across 12 host cities across the country between 20 September and 2 November.

Euronews is no longer accessible on Internet Explorer. This browser is not updated by Microsoft and does not support the last technical evolutions. We encourage you to use another browser, such as Edge, Safari, Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.