This content is not available in your region

South Korea: 'Moon Jae-in to win presidential vote' - exit polls

South Korea: 'Moon Jae-in to win presidential vote' - exit polls
Text size Aa Aa

Liberal Moon Jae-in is predicted to win the South Korean presidential vote, exit polls suggest.

Moon, 64, is expected to take over 40 percent of the vote.

The human rights lawyer favours a moderate policy on neighbour and rival, North Korea.

Why is there an election?

South Koreans have been voting in their presidential election, looking to move on from a corruption scandal that brought down former leader Park Geun-hye and shook the establishment.

The vote will end a months-long leadership vacuum. Park was ousted on charges of bribery and abuse of power and is in jail, awaiting trial.

Background on Moon Jae-in

Moon has criticised previous governments for failing to stop Pyongyang’s weapons development, and advocates dialogue while maintaining pressure and sanctions.

He also wants to reform powerful family-run conglomerates and boost spending to create jobs.

Who else was running?

Almost 20 points behind in the polls, centrist Ahn Cheol-soo voted in Seoul and said he would wait for the people’s “wise decision”.

If elected he, like Moon, was expected to avoid a lavish inauguration ceremony and start work immediately.

Third according to the polls, the ultra-conservative Hong Joon-Pyo cast his vote in the capital.

The outspoken former prosecutor, taken to task over sexism, argues for a harder line towards North Korea.

The winner is expected to be sworn in on Wednesday (May 10).

Euronews is no longer accessible on Internet Explorer. This browser is not updated by Microsoft and does not support the last technical evolutions. We encourage you to use another browser, such as Edge, Safari, Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.