Find Us


Ukraine parliament approves foreigners as government ministers

Ukraine parliament approves foreigners as government ministers
By Euronews
Share this articleComments
Share this articleClose Button

An American, a Georgian and a Lithuanian have been given government posts - and Ukrainian citizenship - as part of President Poroshenko's new team.


Ukraine’s parliament has approved
the appointment of three foreigners to key posts in a revamped government.

President Poroshenko’s new team suggests no major change in policy, with conflict still raging against pro-Russian separatists in the east.

Arseniy Yatsenyuk kept his job as prime minister in the coalition formed after October’s elections.

The acting Foreign Minister Pavlo Klimkin and Defence Minister Stepan Poltorak also stay on.

Parliament ratified the choice of Natalia Yaresko, an American of Ukrainian origin, as finance minister.

A Lithuanian meanwhile, Aivaras Abromavicius, has been appointed as head of the economy ministry; a Georgian, Aleksandre Kvitashvili, becomes Health Minister.

All have been granted Ukrainian citizenship by presidential decree.

The government has vowed to root out corruption and put Ukraine on a path towards European integration.

Share this articleComments

You might also like

Ceasefire on the cards in Ukraine's war-torn east

Ukraine war: Russian bombing kills 9 as Biden approves new missile system transfer

WATCH: Pyrotechnic operations in Zaporizhzhia region