Now Reading:

MotoGP: Dovizioso becomes ninth different winner of 2016 with Sepang triumph


MotoGP: Dovizioso becomes ninth different winner of 2016 with Sepang triumph

Andrea Dovizioso won a wet Malaysia MotoGP on Sunday to become the record ninth different race winner of a single season.

The Italian who was hunting his first victory since 2009 started from pole but was forced to battle hard throughout a thrilling race at Sepang.

After falling behind Yamaha’s Valentino Rossi, Ducati’s Dovizioso took full advantage when his mutliple world title-winning compatriot ran wide on turn one of lap 15 to regain the lead.

Dovizioso then extended his lead out in front as Rossi was left in a ding dong battle with another fellow countryman Andrea Iannone.

Honda’s Cal Crutchlow suffered on the wet surface and crashed out ending his chances of becoming the first British rider to win back-to-back races since Barry Sheene in 1977.

World champion Marc Marquez was quick to follow suit, although he did rejoin the race to eventually finish 11th, while Iannone also added his name to the list of crash casualties.

As Dovizioso crossed the line for his first success in seven years Rossi finished almost nine-seconds clear of Yamaha team-mate Jorge Lorenzo.

In doing so Rossi locked down the runner-ups position in the Championship standings with only the season finale in Valencia, in a fortnight, left to race.

Every story can be told in many ways: see the perspectives from Euronews journalists in our other language teams.


Crutchlow becomes first British rider to win Australian MotoGP as Hamilton celebrates 50th career F1 victory