UK government accidentally publishes addresses of new year honours recipients

UK government accidentally publishes addresses of new year honours recipients
Copyright AP Photo/Lewis Joly, Pool
By Euronews
Share this articleComments
Share this articleClose Button

The honours list includes over 1,000 names this year including Sir Elton John and conservative MP Iain Duncan Smith.


The UK government accidentally published the addresses of recipients of the 2020 New Year's honours.

The list included addresses of performers, politicians, scholars, doctors, chief executives, and government officials.

"A version of the New Year Honours 2020 list was published in error which contained recipients' addresses. The information was removed as soon as possible," a Cabinet Office spokesperson said in a statement.

"We apologise to all those affected and are looking into how this happened."

The Cabinet Office referred the incident to the Information Commissioner's Office - the UK's independent authority on data protection.

The document, which British media said contained over 1,000 addresses, went online late Friday night before being taken down within an hour.

Among those whose addresses were on the list include singer Sir Elton John, historian Sir Keith Thomas, Conservative MP Iain Duncan Smith, entertainer Olivia Newton-John, and Labour MP Diana Johnson.

Sir Elton John and Sir Keith Thomas were both awarded Companion of Honour awards, the highest accolade on the list.

Share this articleComments

You might also like

Liberal candidate Boris Nadezhdin banned from Russian presidential election

Mother of late Kremlin critic Alexei Navalny shown son's body

Spanish authorities arrest human trafficking ring, freeing 21 victims