Find Us

The US extends travel ban to citizens from North Korea, Venezuela and Chad

The US extends travel ban to citizens from North Korea, Venezuela and Chad
By Robert Hackwill
Published on
Share this articleComments
Share this articleClose Button
Copy/paste the article video embed link below:Copy to clipboardCopied

Donald Trump's third attempt to ban citizens entering the US from some states drops Sudan, relaxes restrictions on Iraqis, but adds Chad, North Korea and Venezuela.


US President Donald Trump has issued a third proclamation restricting entry to the United States, that will come into effect on October 18.

It will now apply to eight countries. Sudan is dropped from the list, but it adds Chad, North Korea and Venezuela. In the latter case, the restrictions only apply to some government officials and their families. Iraqis will now only be subject to “additional scrutiny”.

Unlike his previous two bans, this one is not time-limited.

As the latest ban no longer exclusively targets Muslim-majority nations it may undercut arguments in the Supreme Court on the 10th of October, where his second order, made in March, and given temporary court approval in the summer, is being challenged.

Trump abandoned his first January order after several Federal courts ruled it was unconstitutional.

Making America Safe is my number one priority. We will not admit those into our country we cannot safely vet.

— Donald J. Trump (@realDonaldTrump) September 24, 2017

Share this articleComments

You might also like

Kim Jong Un welcomes Russia's Putin at official ceremony in Pyongyang

Putin and Kim Jong Un vow to protect each other if attacked

Are Russian submarines in the Caribbean a direct threat to NATO?