Pope Francis announces 17 new cardinals

Pope Francis announces 17 new cardinals
By Euronews
Share this articleComments
Share this articleClose Button
Copy/paste the article video embed link below:Copy to clipboardCopied

Pope Francis announce the names of 17 new Cardinals that he will appoint next month, many of them from the developing world.


Pope Francis has announced the names of 17 new Cardinals that he will appoint next month.

They reflect his desire to re-pivot the Catholic church towards Asia, Africa and Latin America and 13 are under 80, meaning they’ll be eligible to vote for the next pope.

The Central African Republic, Bangladesh, Papua New Guinea, Malaysia and Lesotho will all have a cardinal for the first time.

Last year the pope visited impoverished Central African Republic where Muslim and Christian militias are at war with each other and urged them to seek reconciliation.

Francis also announced that the current Vatican ambassador in Syria, Italian Archbishop Mario Zenari, would be made a Cardinal but remain in his post to show the Church’s concern for “beloved and martyred Syria” – an allusion to the devastating civil war there.

Naming new cardinals is one of the biggest powers a pope has, allowing him to change the leader of a church which has one point two billion members.

Share this articleComments

You might also like

Woman who says she was abused spiritually and sexually by a once-famous Jesuit demands transparency

Vatican hands down first-ever conviction for sexual abuse committed on its grounds

Vatican defends blessings for same-sex couples after bishops’ pushback