Euronews is no longer accessible on Internet Explorer. This browser is not updated by Microsoft and does not support the last technical evolutions. We encourage you to use another browser, such as Edge, Safari, Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

France Football creates keeper award named after Yashin

Euronews logo
Text size Aa Aa

PARIS (Reuters) – The best keeper in the world will be awarded the ‘Yachine’ trophy, named after former Soviet keeper Lev Yashin, during the Ballon d’Or ceremony, organisers France Football magazine said on Thursday.

Yashin, who played for the Soviet Union from 1954-67, is the only keeper to have won the Ballon d’Or award, in 1963.

The Ballon d’Or was originally given to Europe’s best player and voted for by journalists. It is now a global award with coaches and captains of national teams allowed to vote as well.

France Football said the list of 10 nominees for the keeper award would be unveiled on Oct. 21.

The Ballon d’Or ceremony will be held on Dec. 2.

(Editing by Toby Davis)

euronews provides breaking news articles from reuters as a service to its readers, but does not edit the articles it publishes. Articles appear on for a limited time.