Euronews is no longer accessible on Internet Explorer. This browser is not updated by Microsoft and does not support the last technical evolutions. We encourage you to use another browser, such as Edge, Safari, Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

Chile joins Argentina, Uruguay and Paraguay in World Cup bid

Argentina's Lionel Messi and Uruguay's Luis Suarez
Argentina's Lionel Messi and Uruguay's Luis Suarez -
Euronews logo
Text size Aa Aa

BUENOS AIRES (Reuters) - Chile joined three neighbouring South American countries in a bid to host the 2030 soccer World Cup, according to a joint statement from their governments released on Thursday.

The bid, which previously included only Argentina, Paraguay and Uruguay, is up against bids from England, and another bid from Morocco, Algeria and Tunisia.

The 2030 World Cup will mark the centennial of soccer's most important championship. The first was held in Uruguay in 1930.