Find Us

Queues, tea and Loch Ness monster featured on new UK 10p coins

Queues, tea and Loch Ness monster featured on new UK 10p coins
Copyright The Royal Mint
Copyright The Royal Mint
By Alice Cuddy
Published on
Share this articleComments
Share this articleClose Button

The new collection is an A-Z of what makes Britain great.


A new collection of 10 pence coins was unveiled on Thursday, featuring designs of fish and chips, a teapot, queuing and the Loch Ness monster.

The collection by the UK's Royal Mint is an “A-Z of what makes Britain great” — starting with the Angel of the North landmark and ending with a Zebra crossing.

A Royal Mint spokesperson told Euronews that various themes reflecting British life were considered for the collection, but “it soon became clear that there was so much that makes Britons proud to be British that the alphabet idea was born.”

The Royal Mint

The final 26 designs were chosen by the independent Royal Mint Advisory Committee.

The Royal Mint said some 2.5 million 10p coins have been struck so far, with additional volumes set to be introduced in line with UK demand.

The coins will be rolling out across the country over the next few weeks.

A "great British coin hunt" app has also been created, allowing people to build up a digital collection of the coins they find.

“We hope the British public is inspired to take part in the Great British Coin Hunt by checking their change for those miniature works of art that spell out just some of the many iconic themes that are Quintessentially British," Royal Mint CEO Anne Jessopp said in a statement.

The unveiling of the new coins on Thursday coincided with the final day that paper £10 notes featuring a portrait of Charles Darwin are being accepted in shops before officially being withdrawn.

New plastic notes depicting novelist Jane Austen were introduced in September 2017.

Here is the full list of the new 10p coins:

A - Angel of the North

B - Bond…James Bond

C - Cricket

The Royal Mint

D - Double Decker Bus


E - English Breakfast

F - Fish & Chips

G - Greenwich Mean Time

H - Houses of Parliament


I - Ice-Cream Cone

J - Jubilee

K - King Arthur

L - Loch Ness Monster


M - Mackintosh

N - National Health Service

O - Oak Tree

P - Post Box


Q - Queuing

R - Robin

S - Stonehenge

T - Teapot


U - Union Flag

V - Village

W - World Wide Web

X - X Marks the Spot


Y - Yeoman

Z - Zebra Crossing

Share this articleComments

You might also like

Loch Ness Monster: Hunters flock to Scotland for the biggest Nessie search in half a century

WATCH: King Charles' opening of new parliament of the United Kingdom

Euro 2024: 'England wouldn't be into the final without migrants' says new UK campaign