US Votes for Sanctions on three countries

US Votes for Sanctions on three countries
By Euronews
Share this articleComments
Share this articleClose Button
Copy/paste the article video embed link below:Copy to clipboardCopied

US Votes for Sanctions on three countries


The US has voted for sanctions on Russia, Iran and North Korea.

The overwhelming vote against the three countries comes despite Donald Trump’s objections to the legislation.

And the bill was passed with support from Democrat representatives as well as fellow Republicans.

Republican congressman from California, Ed Royce, explained why it was important: “These three regimes in different parts of the world are threatening vital U.S. interests and they are destabilizing their neighbours. It is well past time that we forcefully respond,” he said.

It now needs to go before the Senate but support in the lower house is solid

Joaquin Castro said it was important to send out the right message: “These sanctions are a clear signal that the United States will hold President Putin and his close associates accountable for their actions. They are also a declaration that Congress can and will act even when President Trump refuses to do so.”

If the bill is successful it will need to be sent to the White House for Trump to sign into law or veto. He has not yet decided what he will do

But it comes at a time when investigations are underway about possible collusion between the 2016 Presidental Trump campaign and Russia.

Share this articleComments

You might also like

Judge orders Trump off Illinois primary ballot but puts ruling on hold

Boeing given 90 days to produce improved safety and quality control plan

Longest-running Republican leader Mitch McConnell to step down