This content is not available in your region

2017 Dakar rally route unveiled

2017 Dakar rally route unveiled
Text size Aa Aa

The route for the 2017 Dakar Rally was unveiled on Tuesday.

Paraguay becomes the 29th different nation to host the start of the world’s most famous rally raid.

Competitors will begin their 9,000km journey with stage one from Paraguay’s capital Asuncion to the unofficial capital of neighbouring Bolivia, La Paz.

After which the hundreds of vehicles will head south into Argentina, with finish line in Buenos Aires.

Race director Etienne Lavigne said: “We will obviously go higher this time as we will head to La Paz. We will have four completely new stages which will allow us once again to surprise the competitors in geographically different and challenging environments, very varied terrain and with changing weather conditions. The changing weather systems plays an important role in the Dakar because it can – from one day to the next – completely change the racing conditions”.

The 38th running of the Dakar and ninth to be held in South America, which will consist of 12 stages, runs from January 2 – 14.

Euronews is no longer accessible on Internet Explorer. This browser is not updated by Microsoft and does not support the last technical evolutions. We encourage you to use another browser, such as Edge, Safari, Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.