This content is not available in your region

Gabon to host the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations

Access to the comments Comments
By Euronews
Gabon to host the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations

The Confederation of African Football has handed the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations to Gabon after beating off the challenges of Algeria and Ghana.

Gabon replaces war-torn Libya as host nation after Tripoli withdrew last year because of the civil conflict raging in the country.

Gabon will use four venues for the 16-team tournament, set for January 2017: Libreville and Franceville plus Port Gentil and Oyem, where the stadiums will be ready in 14 months, according to the Gabon Football Federation.

The draw for the 2017 African Nations Cup qualifiers is as follows.

Group A: Djibouti, Liberia, Togo, Tunisia

Group B: Angola, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Madagascar

Group C: Benin, Equatorial Guinea, Mali, South Sudan

Group D: Botswana, Burkina Faso, Comoros Islands, Uganda

Group E: Congo, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Zambia

Group F: Cape Verde Islands, Libya, Morocco, Sao Tome e Principe

Group G: Chad, Egypt, Nigeria, Tanzania

Group H: Ghana, Mauritius, Mozambique, Rwanda

Group I: Gabon (hosts)*, Ivory Coast (holders), Sierra Leone, Sudan

Group J: Algeria, Ethiopia, Lesotho, Seychelles

Group K: Burundi, Namibia, Niger, Senegal

Group L: Guinea, Malawi, Swaziland, Zimbabwe

Group M: Cameroon, Gambia, Mauritania, South Africa