European Commission candidates approved by EU Parliament chief ahead of final vote

European Commission candidates approved by EU Parliament chief ahead of final vote
By Luke Hurst
Share this articleComments
Share this articleClose Button

EU parliament chief David Sassoli has announced the candidates for the European Commission have been approved, setting up a final vote in the European Parliament.


The European Parliament is to vote on the new European Commissioners after the parliament's chief announced the debates and hearings on the makeup of the new Commission were complete.

After meeting with the Commission’s three executive Vice Presidents-designate, David Sassoli told a press conference the College of Commissioners would be presented to the parliament in Strasbourg on Wednesday.

"If it's a favourable vote, the Commisison will be able to start its work on 1 December," he said.

Prior to this announcement, the European Commission President-elect Von de Leyen had to select replacements for Hungary, Romania and France.

Her previous picks for the three countries - France's Sylvie Goulard, Hungary's Laszlo Trocsanyi and Romania's Rovana Plumb - were rejected by MEPs in recent weeks.

27 EU member states have made their nominations, but the United Kingdom failed to put names forward, leading to the European Commission to begin infringement proceedings against the UK.

The European Commission gave the UK until Friday 22 November to respond.

Here is the list of candidates

Germany: Ursula von der Leyen, President

Netherlands: Frans Timmermans, European Green Deal

Denmark: Margrethe Vestager, A Europe Fit for the Digital Age

Latvia: Valdis Dombrovskis, An Economy That Works for People

Spain: Josep Borrell Fontelles, A Stronger Europe in the World

Slovakia: Maroš Šefčovič, Interinstitutional Relations and Foresight

Czech Republic: Věra Jourová, Values and Transparency

Croatia: Dubravka Šuica, Democracy and Demography

Greece: Margaritis Schinas, Promoting the European Way of Life

Austria: Johannes Hahn, Budget and Administration

Ireland: Phil Hogan, Trade


Bulgaria: Mariya Gabriel, Innovation and Youth

Luxembourg: Nicolas Schmit, Jobs and Social Rights

Italy: Paolo Gentiloni, Economy

Poland: Janusz Wojciechowski, Agriculture

Portugal: Elisa Ferreira, Cohesion and Reforms


Hungary: Olivér Várhelyi, Neighbourhood and Enlargement

Cyprus: Stella Kyriakidou, Health

Belgium: Didier Reynders, Justice

Romania: Adina Vălean, Transport

Malta: Helena Dalli, Equality


France: Thierry Breton, Internal Market

Sweden: Ylva Johansson, Home Affairs

Slovenia: Janez Lenarčič, Crisis Management

Finland: Jutta Urpilainen, International Partnerships

Estonia: Kadri Simson, Energy


Lithuania: Virginijus Sinkevičius, Environment, Oceans and Fisheries

United Kingdom: Undeclared

Share this articleComments

You might also like

The Brief: The future Commission sets to criminalize gender-based violence

At least 11 people killed as Russian attacks intensify in northeastern Ukraine

Protesters rally against Spain's right-wing Vox party's conference in Madrid