Euro 2020 draw: Who will complete the 'group of death'?

Euro 2020 draw: Who will complete the 'group of death'?
Copyright REUTERS/Stoyan Nenov
Copyright REUTERS/Stoyan Nenov
By Euronews with Rueters, AFP
Share this articleComments
Share this articleClose Button

World champions France, Germany and Portugal have been drawn together in Group F, to be played in Munich and Budapest.


Who will follow Portugal as the next winner of the UEFA Euro championship?

The draw for Euro 2020 championship was revealed on Saturday in Bucharest, Romania.

Players and fans alike are always on the lookout for a potential group of death. And Euro 2020 will not disappoint. Holders Portugal will face the most recent world champions in the shape of France (2018) and Germany (2014). Another team will join these three giants play off 'path A' (constituting Bulgaria, Hungary, Iceland and Romania). However, in a stunning example of administrative befuddlement, should Romania emerge triumphant, they will in fact escape the group of death and be thrown into the vortex of Group C, and in that scenario the team who get out of 'path D' (Georgia, Belarus, North Macedonia, or Kosovo) will have the curious pleasure. 

The tournament - 12 June to 12 July 2020 - will be played in 12 different European countries in a one-off format to celebrate the 60th anniversary of the European Championships.

Italy will host Turkey in the opening match in Rome on 12 June.

Take a look at the full draw for Euro 2020 below:

Group A: (Rome and Baku)

Turkey, Italy, Wales, Switzerland

Group B: (Copenhagen and St Petersburg)

Denmark, Finland, Belgium, Russia

Group C: (Amsterdam and Bucharest)

Netherlands, Ukraine, Austria, Playoff winner D *

Group D: (London and Glasgow)

England, Croatia, Playoff winner C, Czech Republic

Group E: (Bilbao and Dublin)

Spain, Sweden, Poland, Playoff winner B

Group F: (Munich and Budapest)

Play off winner A *, Portugal, Germany, France

Play off groups (to be played in March)

Playoff A:

Iceland, Romania, Hungary, Bulgaria

Playoff B:

Bosnia, Slovakia, Ireland, Northern Ireland

Playoff C:

Scotland, Norway, Serbia, Israel

Playoff D:

Kosovo, North Macedonia, Georgia, Belarus

* If Romania win playoff A, they will be moved to Group C and the winners of playoff D will move to Group F.

Share this articleComments

You might also like

Luis Rubiales detained at Madrid airport in corruption investigation

Luis Rubiales tells Spanish court he will cooperate with corruption probe

From the battlefield to the pitch: Ukraine's war amputees find solace in football