This content is not available in your region
Sainz wins Dakar rally

Sainz wins Dakar rally

Spaniard, Carlos Sainz has won the Dakar Rally in Argentina as Peugeot took their third win in a row.

Sainz had led the cars into the final stage with a 46-minute advantage over al-Attiyah. He took no risks after the marathon two-week race from Peru through Bolivia, that saw a spate of retirements and accidents.

The victory, ahead of Qatar's two times winner Nasser Al-Attiyah in a Toyota, handed Sainz his second title

The third place on the podium went to South African Giniel de Villiers in a Toyota, ahead of Peterhansel.

Austrian Matthias Walkner, last year's runner-up, won the motorcycle category for his first Dakar triumph, adding to KTM's impressive 17th title in a row.

Russian Eduard Nikolaev won the truck category in a Kamaz for the second year in a row and third time in total.

And the final winner of the gruelling endurance race was Chilean Ignacio Casale, who took his second title in the quad bike category.