This content is not available in your region

Triathlon World Cup winners crowned

Access to the comments Comments
By Euronews
Triathlon World Cup winners crowned

Ending the 2017 World Cup season with a bang, Summer Cook of the USA and Belgium’s Marten van Riel were crowned victorious at the 2017 Miyazaki ITU Triathlon World Cup.

It was the second successive World Cup gold title for Cook after winning in Tongyeong a week ago. She dominated the field through the swim, bike and run.

And it was Van Riel’s very first career World Cup win after earning a silver in Sarasota and a bronze in Tongyeong.

Joining Cook on the women’s podium was USA compatriot Taylor Spivey who claimed silver and Emma Jackson of Australia, with the bronze.

On the men’s side, Spaniard Vicente Hernandez was second and Andreas Schilling of Denmark finished third.

The standard distance race which debuted in Miyazaki for only the second time in ITU history, was the final race of the World Cup season, after an exciting 15-stop global tour that began in February.