Euronews is no longer accessible on Internet Explorer. This browser is not updated by Microsoft and does not support the last technical evolutions. We encourage you to use another browser, such as Edge, Safari, Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

Surfing wipeouts remembered in spectacular style

Surfing wipeouts remembered in spectacular style
Euronews logo
Text size Aa Aa

The World Surf League has released a dramatic series of pictures announcing the nominees for Wipeout of the Year Award.

The video features the talents of surfers from all over the world including; Matt Becker, Tom Dosland, Garrett McNamara (all from the United States), Pedro Calado from Brazil and Niccolo Porcella from Italy.

The Wipeout of the Year Award is part of the Big Wave Awards 2016, which aims to honour the top ten men and women in surfing over the previous twelve months.

Surfers can earn up to $250,000 in prize money from the various categories including the Ride of the Year, Biggest Wave and the Paddle award.

The winners will be crowned at a ceremony at the Grove Theatre in Anaheim, California on April 23, 2016.