Coronavirus: England drops 30 European countries from its quarantine policy - full list

Passengers arrive at Heathrow airport
Passengers arrive at Heathrow airport Copyright AP Photo/Matt Dunham
By Euronews
Share this articleComments
Share this articleClose Button

Arrivals to England from a number of countries will be exempted from quarantine requirements from July 10, paving the way for Britons to enjoy a summer holiday abroad.


Arrivals to England from a number of countries will be exempt from quarantine requirements, paving for the way for Britons to enjoy a summer holiday abroad.

In plans released on Friday, the UK government will drop the 14-day self-isolation requirement for passengers returning to or visiting England from a select group of destinations.

Quarantine rules were imposed as a measure to stop the spread of coronavirus from abroad. The UK currently has the highest confirmed number of COVID-19 deaths in Europe.

The changes will come into effect from 10 July. From that point, Britons who travel abroad to certain countries will be able to return to England without having to self-isolate for 14 days.

Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland are to set out their own approach.

Which European countries will be exempted from England's quarantine list?

  • Andorra
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Faroe Islands
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Greenland
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Spain
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • Vatican City

Ireland is already exempted due to it being part of the common travel area. The same applies to the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man

The UK’s Foreign and Commonwealth Office is also expected to set out exemptions to its current global advisory against “all but essential” travel, with changes effective from 4 July.

The list of destinations that will be exempted from quarantine requirements has been decided based on a risk assessment looking at the prevalence of coronavirus in that country.

All passengers, except those on a small list of exemptions, will still be required to provide contact information on arrival in the UK, the government said.

The UK is gradually emerging from a nationwide lockdown imposed in March, with bars, restaurants and hairdressers allowed to reopen in England on Saturday.

The European Union re-opened its borders this week to people from 14 countries including Canada, Japan, South Korea and Morocco.

Pubs, restaurants and hair salons reopening in England from 4 July
Share this articleComments

You might also like

UK Chancellor Rishi Sunak slashes VAT on tourism and hospitality from 20% to 5% until January

First night out in London after three months of coronavirus lockdown: How did it go?

Seven police officers injured in London as pubs reopens in England