England to host 2021 Women's European Championship

England to host 2021 Women's European Championship
Copyright Reuters/Craig Brough
By Emma Beswick
Share this articleComments
Share this articleClose Button

England to host 2021 Women's European Championship


England has been named the host of the 2021 Women's European Championship, UEFA has confirmed.

Among the proposed match venues were Manchester, Rotherham and Sheffield in the North, Nottingham in the Midlands, as well as Milton Keynes, Brentford, Wembley, Brighton and Southampton in the South.

The final will be held at the iconic Wembley Stadium.

While the English Football Association (FA) was the only bidder to host the tournament it still had to fulfil strict criteria before being given the green light by UEFA.

England staged the competition in 2005 at venues in the North West, with the home nation playing Finland in Manchester as the opening match.

Share this articleComments

You might also like

Jordan Henderson's move to Saudi team may not ruin his legacy as LGBTQ+ ally, say UK public

'Easy cities to buy': Sportswashing in Manchester and Newcastle laid bare in report

Champions League: Wins for Man City and Inter Milan in first leg of quarterfinals