Euronews is no longer accessible on Internet Explorer. This browser is not updated by Microsoft and does not support the last technical evolutions. We encourage you to use another browser, such as Edge, Safari, Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

US, Mexico and Canada to host 2026 World Cup

US, Mexico and Canada to host 2026 World Cup
Euronews logo
Text size Aa Aa

The US, Mexico and Canada have jointly won their bid to host the 2026 World Cup, beating Morocco.

FIFA held a congress on the eve of the Russian World Cup in Moscow, where members voted on who will host the competition in 2026.

The tri-nation bid won 134 of the votes, with Morocco getting 65.

The 2026 tournament will be the first expanded tournament featuring 48 teams, up from the current 32-team tournament, which begins in Russia on Thursday.

Watch the full ceremony live here: