Coma and Al-Attiyah win Dakar Rally

Access to the comments Comments
By Euronews
Coma and Al-Attiyah win Dakar Rally

Marc Coma won his fifth Dakar Rally title in the bike category on Saturday.

The Spaniard safely negotiated the shortened final stage to Baradero just north of the Argentine capital Buenos Aires to celebrate overall victory.

Coma’s five titles now ties him with Frenchmen Cyril Neveu and Cyril Despres.

Coma finished first ahead of Portuguese Paulo Goncalves and Dakar debutant Toby Price of Australia.

Qatari driver Nasser Al-Attiyah won the car category in his Mini following the last stage of the 36th running of the event.

It was his second triumph after a success campaign in 2011.

He becomes the seventh multiple winner of the worlds most gruelling rally raid.

Giniel de Villiers of South Africa was second overall while Krzysztof Hołowczyc of Poland was third.

Russian Ayrat Mardeev led a Kamaz one two three in the truck category.