European parliament marks 20th anniversary of euro

MEPs on Tuesday celebrated the 20th anniversary of the euro during a plenary session in Strasbourg.

Amongst those gathered for the occasion were former European Central Bank chief Jean-Claude Trichet, his current successor Mario Draghi, EU Commission President Jean-Claude Junker, Eurogroup President Mario Centeno and European Parliament President Antonio Tajani.

The single currency is shared by 19 of the European Union's member states.

Euronews is no longer accessible on Internet Explorer. This browser is not updated by Microsoft and does not support the last technical evolutions. We encourage you to use another browser, such as Edge, Safari, Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.