Ronaldo and Lieke Martens win FIFA player of the year awards

Ronaldo and Lieke Martens win FIFA player of the year awards
By Emma Beswick
Share this articleComments
Share this articleClose Button

Cristiano Ronaldo and Dutch player Lieke Martens take home the top prizes at the Best FIFA Football Awards 2017


The second-ever Best FIFA Football Awards were held tonight (October 23) in London, among other awards, Cristiano Ronaldo won male player of the year and Lieke Martens took home the women’s title.

Martens, a Dutch player who is currently signed to Barcelona FC, was key in the Netherlands’ Euro 2017 victory.

It’s the third time Ronaldo, a Portuguese forward, has taken home the award, beating the likes of Lionel Messi and Neymar.

Ronaldo’s Real Madrid coach Zinedine Zidane also won the Best Coach award, this too was his third time taking home the title.

A breakaway from the Ballon d’Or awards was created when FIFA’s partnership with France Football ended.

Idris Elba and presenter Layla-Anna Lee hosted the ceremony, which also featured a performance by the band Kasabian.

Here’s how events unfolded

Share this articleComments

You might also like

Ronaldo wins Ballon d'Or award for joint-record fifth time

FIFA gives ex-Spanish football federation president Rubiales 3 year ban

Most of Spain's World Cup-winning players to return to squad