This content is not available in your region

Dakar Rally: Loeb continues to shine with third stage win

Dakar Rally: Loeb continues to shine with third stage win
Text size Aa Aa

Nine times world rally champion Sebastien Loeb celebrated his third win in this year’s Dakar Rally.

The Frenchman – competing in his first Dakar – won stage five, a 327 kilometre rocky test from Jujuy in Argentina to Uyuni in Bolivia.

The win extended Loeb’s overall race lead.

Loeb led a second straight Peugeot sweep of the podium.

Behind him were teammates, Spaniard Carlos Sainz a five-times winner and fellow Frenchman Stéphane Peterhansel who is an 11-times champion.

In the motorcycle category Australian Toby Price claimed his second win in the 38th edition of the race.

Antoine Meo of France was second on the day while completing the podium was Stefan Svitko of Slovakia who is second in the general standings behind Portuguese rider Paulo Goncalves.

Goncalves was a lowly 12th on the day.

Euronews is no longer accessible on Internet Explorer. This browser is not updated by Microsoft and does not support the last technical evolutions. We encourage you to use another browser, such as Edge, Safari, Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.