This content is not available in your region

Tour de France teams and contenders presented

Access to the comments Comments
By Euronews
Tour de France teams and contenders presented

The Tour de France teams were presented in the Dutch city of Utrecht on Thursday.

In total twenty-two teams and 198 riders were shown off to the fans.

Astana’s Vincezo Nibali will look to become the first legal back to back winner of cycling’s most prestigious event.

He enters the race having won the Italian national championship last week, his first victory of the year.

He’ll face stiff opposition though – notably from Tinkoff Saxo’s two-time champion Alberto Contador.

The Spaniard is hoping to become the first rider since Marco Pantani in 1998 to win the Giro and the Tour in the same season.

Team Sky’s 2013 champion Chris Froome will look to bounce back from a disappointing title defence last year.

The Briton was forced to pull out during stage 5 after crashing multiple times in the first week.

While Movistar’s title contender Nairo Quintana will look to make his mark on cycling’s biggest stage having won the Giro last year.

The Tour begins on Saturday with a 13.8 individual time trial around Utrecht.