This content is not available in your region

PSV Eindhoven win Dutch league for 22nd time

Access to the comments Comments
By Euronews
PSV Eindhoven win Dutch league for 22nd time

PSV Eindhoven are the new Dutch champions, for the first time in seven seasons.It ends a long drought for the club, which has won the championship 22 times before. With only three games left to play they cannot be caught.

PSV end Ajax’s four years on the top spot. Only Ajax have won more titles, with 33 wins.

Luuk de Jong set PSV on their way with an early headed goal, the first of two for him,
and the league’s leading scorer Memphis Depay made it two midway through the first half, his free kick sending the crowd into raptures.

Heerenveen briefly looked up for a fight when den Berg pulled one back, but de Jong’s second came just before half time to sap the visitor’s spirit, and then it was plain sailing in the second half with just an extra PSV goal from Narsingh.