Now Reading:

Nairo Quintana is crowned winner of the Vuelta a Espana


Nairo Quintana is crowned winner of the Vuelta a Espana


The final day of a grand tour is usually a procession where the winners celebrate with champagne.

And the short leg from Las Rozas to the final circuit in Madrid of the Vuelta a Espana was no different with Quintana’s Movistar team sharing a glass of bubbly with rival Chris Froome.

As the race hit the capital the sprinters came to the fore and Magnus Cort Nielsen stole ahead to win the sprint, the third for his Orica-BikeExchange team during this edition.

Quintana was crowned the winner. It’s the Columbian’s second grand tour after the 2014 Giro d’Italia.
Chris Froome of Team Sky was second overall and Esteban Chaves third.

Cycling commentators have hailed the 2016 edition of the Vuelta as one of the most exciting in recent years, which gave fans plenty of thrills and spills with the rivalries between Quintana, Froome, Contador and Chaves.

Every story can be told in many ways: see the perspectives from Euronews journalists in our other language teams.

Next Article