This content is not available in your region

Nelson Piquet wins first Formula E championship

Access to the comments Comments
By Euronews
Nelson Piquet wins first Formula E championship

Brazilian Nelson Piquet has won the inaugural Formula E Championship by a single point from Sebastian Buemi, after finishing seventh in a thrilling climax to the season at London’s Battersea Park on Sunday.

Buemi’s hopes received a knock when this spin on lap 17 put him back to seventh.

But he continued his charge, and if he had managed to take fourth position from Bruno Senna then the title would have been his, but the Brazilian stubbornly blocked his path.

Sam Bird won the race for Virgin.

The Brit was handed the victory after Stephane Sarrazin, was handed a 49-second penalty for going over his power allowance.