This content is not available in your region

The Global Energy Prize award ceremony live from Moscow

Access to the comments Comments
The Global Energy Prize award ceremony live from Moscow
Text size Aa Aa

The Global Energy Prize honours outstanding achievements in energy research and technology from around the world, which are helping address the energy challenges we are facing.

This year, in what was the 17th annual ceremony, the Prize recognised technological advances designed to solve infrastructure problems in the energy sector – such as issues of energy storage and integration, which are especially pivotal in the renewable energy sector.

The award ceremony was held on Thursday, 3 October as part of Russian Energy Week. You can watch the replay of the live ceremony on the video player above.

The 2019 laureates were Professor Frede Blaabjerg from Denmark – for outstanding technical contributions to the design of power management systems enabling the integration of renewable power – and Dr. Khalil Amine from the USA, for outstanding contribution to the development of efficient electrical energy storage technology.

They received gold medals, gold badges and diplomas – and will share a premium fund of 39 million rubles (€547,000). The Global Energy Prize is rated as one of the world's 99 major science awards by the IREG Observatory on Academic Prizes and Excellence, and as a “mega prize” by the International Congress of Distinguished Awards.

Since 2003, the Global Energy Prize has been awarded to 39 laureates from 13 countries: Australia, Austria, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Japan, Russia, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, the UK and the USA.

The Global Energy Prize was established in Russia, through the Global Energy Association, and is supported by leading Russian energy companies Gazprom, FGC UES and Surgutneftegas. It promotes international energy co-operation and public and private investment in the energy sector.