This content is not available in your region

Factbox-Who is subject to British sanctions over Russian invasion of Ukraine?

By Reuters

LONDON – Britain has imposed sanctions on members of the Russian and Belarusian elite, including Russian President Vladimir Putin and Chelsea soccer club owner Roman Abramovich, and at least 12 banks and companies since Moscow’s invasion of Ukraine.

Ministers have spoken about targeting more than 100 individuals and entities, but have so far named only some of those while government lawyers build the legal case against others.

Britain’s Prime Minister Boris Johnson said the government would be ruthless in pursuing those “who enable the killing of civilians, destruction of hospitals and illegal occupation of sovereign allies.”

List of people who have been sanctioned:

Name Designation

Vladimir Putin Russian President

Roman Abramovich Owner of Chelsea Football Club, has

stakes in steel giant Evraz and Norilsk


Igor Sechin Rosneft Chief Executive Officer

Oleg Deripaska Holds stakes in En+ Group

Dmitri Lebedev Chairman of Bank Rossiya

Andrey Kostin Chairman of VTB bank

Alexei Miller CEO of energy company Gazprom

Nikolai Tokarev President of the Russia state-owned

pipeline company Transneft

Sergei Lavrov Russian Foreign Minister

Kirill Shamalov Putin’s former son-in-law; shareholder

and deputy chairman of petrochemical firm


Gennady Timchenko A major shareholder in Bank Rossiya

Boris Rotenberg A board member and major shareholder of

Russian lender SMP Bank

Igor Rotenberg Chairman of transport company National

Telematic Systems

Denis Bortnikov Deputy president and chairman of Russian

state-owned lender VTB

Pyotr Fradkov Head of Russian state-owned Promsvyazbank

Yury Slyusar General Director of UAC

Yelena Georgieva Chair of Novikombank

Kirill Dmitriev Head of Russia’s RDIF sovereign wealth


Andrei Burdyko Deputy minister of Defence for Logistics

and Chief of Logistics of the Belarusian


Victor Gulevich Belarus’ Chief of the General Staff and

First Deputy Minister of Defence

Sergei Simonenko Deputy Minister of Defence for Armament

and Chief of Armament of the Belarusian


Andrey Zhuk Belarus’ Deputy Minister of Defence

Alisher Usmanov Founder of USM Holdings, which works in

mining, telecoms and tech

Igor Shuvalov Former first deputy prime minister, a

former aide to Putin and chair of the

management board of VEB

List of companies whose assets have been frozen:

Name Details

Sberbank Russia’s largest bank

VTB Russia’s second-largest


Genbank Crimea-focused lender

Sovcombank Private bank

The Russian Direct Investment Fund Russia’s sovereign

(RDIF) wealth fund

Rostec State-owned defence


United Aircraft Corporation (UAC) State-owned aircraft


Tactical Missiles Corporation (TMC) State-owned defence


UralVagonZavod (UVZ) State-owned battle-tank


United Shipbuilding Corporation State-owned

(USC) shipbuilding company

558 Aircraft Repair Plant Belarusian defence


JSC Integral Belarusian state-owned

defence company