BREAKING NEWS

American Walker handed 58 penalty strokes at Senior LPGA event

Euronews logo
Text size Aa Aa

(Reuters) – An American golfer was handed a whopping 58 penalty strokes over two rounds at this week’s Senior LPGA Championship after it was brought to her attention that she violated a rule each time her caddie aided her putting alignment.

Lee Ann Walker was made aware of the rule, which results in a two-shot penalty for each violation, by another caddie in her group while on her fifth hole of the second round in French Lick, Indiana, but by then the damage was done.

Walker was assessed 42 additional strokes in the first round, which ballooned her 13-over-par 85 to 127. She took another 16 penalty strokes in the second round before learning of the rule and finished with a 90.

“This may be my claim to fame,” Walker told Golfweek. “Not exactly how I was looking to do it.”

(Reporting by Frank Pingue in Toronto, editing by Ed Osmond)

euronews provides breaking news articles from reuters as a service to its readers, but does not edit the articles it publishes. Articles appear on euronews.com for a limited time.
Euronews is no longer accessible on Internet Explorer. This browser is not updated by Microsoft and does not support the last technical evolutions. We encourage you to use another browser, such as Edge, Safari, Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.