This content is not available in your region

Pakistan opt to bat in second test v Australia

Access to the comments Comments
Pakistan opt to bat in second test v Australia
FILE PHOTO - Cricket - Scotland vs Pakistan - First International T20 - The Grange Club, Edinburgh, Britain - June 12, 2018 Pakistan's Sarfraz Ahmed in action REUTERS/Russell Cheyne   -   Copyright  RUSSELL CHEYNE(Reuters)
Text size Aa Aa

(Reuters) – Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed won the toss and elected to bat first in the second and final test against Australia in Abu Dhabi on Tuesday.

Pakistan named two debutants in Fakhar Zaman, who replaces the injured opening batsman Imam-ul-Haq, and left-arm seamer Mir Hamza, who comes in for Wahab Riaz after the paceman went wicketless in the drawn first test in Dubai.

Tim Paine’s Australia, bidding to win their first series in Asia since 2011, are unchanged from Dubai.


Pakistan – Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Azhar Ali, Haris Sohail, Babar Azam, Asad Shafiq, Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Mir Hamza, Bilal Asif, Mohammad Abbas, Yasir Shah.

Australia – Usman Khawaja, Aaron Finch, Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Marsh, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschangne, Tim Paine (captain), Mitchell Starc, Peter Siddle, Nathan Lyon, Jon Holland.

(Reporting by Ian Ransom in Melbourne; Editing by John O’Brien)

euronews provides breaking news articles from reuters as a service to its readers, but does not edit the articles it publishes. Articles appear on for a limited time.