BREAKING NEWS
This content is not available in your region

Golf - Rahm incurs penalty stroke for stepping on ball

Access to the comments Comments
Golf - Rahm incurs penalty stroke for stepping on ball
Aug 10, 2018; Saint Louis, MO, USA; Jon Rahm putts on the 18th green during the second round of the PGA Championship golf tournament at Bellerive Country Club. Mandatory Credit: Jeff Curry-USA TODAY Sports   -   Copyright  Jeff Curry(Reuters)
Text size Aa Aa

By Andrew Both

ST. LOUIS (Reuters) – Spaniard Jon Rahm incurred an one-stroke penalty when he trod on his ball during the second round of the PGA Championship on Friday.

Rahm was searching for the ball in thick rough on his 17th hole, the par-five eighth, when the transgression occurred.

He called for a rules official and informed him of what had happened.

With the rules stating that a one-stroke penalty will be incurred if a player or his caddie steps on the ball, Rahm had no choice but to accept the penalty.

Rahm went on to par the hole and shot a 67 for a five-under 135 halfway total that left him five strokes behind leader Gary Woodland.

The world number seven burst onto the professional scene two years ago and has already racked up five victories — three on the European Tour and two on the PGA Tour.

Although tipped as a future major champion, he has struggled to produce his best form at golf’s four big events. A fourth place showing at this year’s Masters has been his best effort.

The 23-year-old missed the cut at this year’s U.S. and British Opens.

(Reporting by Andrew Both, editing by Pritha Sarkar)

euronews provides breaking news articles from reuters as a service to its readers, but does not edit the articles it publishes. Articles appear on euronews.com for a limited time.