London to host Euro 2020 semi-finals and final

Now Reading:

London to host Euro 2020 semi-finals and final

London to host Euro 2020 semi-finals and final
Text size Aa Aa

London’s Wembley Stadium has won the right to host the semi-finals and final of Euro 2020 following the announcement by UEFA at a ceremony in Geneva.

London beat a bid by Munich which had proposed Bayern Munich’s Allianz Arena – the only other bid for the finals package.

It will be the first time since Euro 96 that England has hosted a major tournament – albeit the latter stages.

It offers a measure of solace for the English Football Association that suffered failed bids for the 2006 World Cup and most recently the 2018 World Cup to be hosted by Russia.

Wembley opened it’s new gates in 2007 and was built on the site of the earlier stadium which was demolished in 2003.

Boasting a 90-thousand seater capacity it is the second largest stadium in Europe and the largest stadium in the UK.

As well as hosting domestic football Cup finals it has staged two Champions League finals in the past three years and several NFL regular season games.

It’s will also host two pool matches for next year’s Rugby World Cup and now it can add the semi-finals and final of UEFA’s flasghip event to it’s list of hosting achievements.

There were 19 bids in total gunning for 13 packages.

Twelve are standard packages including three group stage games and one quarter-final or round of 16 game and one finals package.

It is to be the the first pan-continental European Championship and is expected to be a one-off to mark the 60th anniversary of the European confederation.

Munich eventually won the right to host a quarter-final match as well as three group games as did Baku, Saint Petersburg and Rome.

The Allianz Arena in the Bavarian capital seats just over 71 thousand and is the third largest in the country.

It also boasts an aesthetically-pleasing colour-changing exterior.

It’s a well-tested stadium at the highest level of the sport having hosted four 2006 World Cup group games as well as one last 16 and one semi-final fixture.

Cities and stadiums that won the right to host group games and a last 16 match were Copenhagen’s Parken Stadium, Bucharest’s National Arena, Amsterdam’s Amsterdam Arena, Dublin’s Aviva Stadium, Bilbao’s San Mames Stadium, Budapest’s Puskas Ferenc Stadium, Brussels’ Eurostadium and Glasgow’s Hampden Park.

Cities to miss out include Minsk, Sofia, Skopje, Jerusalem, Stockholm and Cardiff.