This content is not available in your region

Journalists share Sweden's Olof Palme Prize

Journalists share Sweden's Olof Palme Prize
Text size Aa Aa

Two journalists will share Sweden’s Olof Palme Prize for what the jury called their “tireless and lonely struggle for the benefit of others”.

Roberto Saviano and Lydia Cacho have been awarded by for their works highlighting the criminal underworlds in Italy and Mexico.

Saviano wrote the mafia expose ‘Gomorrah’ and Cacho has exposed high-level corruption in Mexico.

Both have faced death threats over their work.

The award was created in memory of Swedish Prime Minister Olof Palme who was assassinated in 1986.

Euronews is no longer accessible on Internet Explorer. This browser is not updated by Microsoft and does not support the last technical evolutions. We encourage you to use another browser, such as Edge, Safari, Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.