This content is not available in your region

US economists win Nobel prize

US economists win Nobel prize
Text size Aa Aa

The winners of this year’s Nobel Prize for Economics have been announced in Stockholm with the award going to US economists Thomas Sargent and Christopher Sims.

Sargent is a professor of economics at New York University; Sims teaches at Princeton University in New Jersey.

The pair will share prize money of just over one million euros.

The Nobel jury praised this year’s laureates for “answering questions on the causal relationship between economic policy and different macro-economic variables such as GDP, inflation, employment and investments”.

Euronews is no longer accessible on Internet Explorer. This browser is not updated by Microsoft and does not support the last technical evolutions. We encourage you to use another browser, such as Edge, Safari, Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.