This content is not available in your region

British architect Norman Foster wins arts award in Spain

Access to the comments Comments
British architect Norman Foster wins arts award in Spain
Text size Aa Aa

This year’s Prince of Asturias Award for Arts has been awarded to British Architect Norman Foster.

The Asturias prizes are the Spanish equivalent of the Nobel Prize and are awarded in eight categories over the course of every summer. This year’s recipient, Norman Foster, Baron Foster of Thames Bank to give him his full title, is renowned as an architect who has integrated modern technology into his designs. Presenting the award, the president of the Asturias jury paid tribute to Foster’s ability to reconcile aesthetic quality, intellectual thought and dialogue with the residents living near his projects and his masterful use of space, light and material. Foster’s most famous works include the Millau Viaduct in France, which at nearly 250 meters above the River Tarn is the highest bridge in the world. Among his urban projects are the glass dome in the renovated Reichstag building in Berlin and his landmarks in London include the Millenium Tower and Millenium Bridge. Foster was awarded architecture’s highest honour, the Pritzker Prize, in 1999.