Reactions in Parliament to Barroso backdown

Reactions in Parliament to Barroso backdown
Text size Aa Aa

Here were some reactions in the European Parliament after Jose Manuel Barroso pulled back from the brink of failure.

Socialist leader Martin Schulz:“Its a victory for the Parliament, but also for the Socialist group. I hope he will come back now with a proposal, and a proposal which could find a wide majority in the house.” The head of the conservative European People’s Party, Hans-Gert Poettering stood by Barroso: “No, we respect the decision of the President of the Commission Jose Manuel Barroso and he has said he needs more time and so we should respect this.” The leader of the Liberals, Graham Watson, sought to give Barroso credit:“I think that the action that he took today in deciding not to present the commission was the correct thing to do and it was an elegant way forward which allows the parliament a victory without producing for the Commission a defeat.” Like the Socialists, the Greens say the EU executive team needs adjustments. European Green co-president Daniel Cohn-Bendit:“We’ll see what he comes up with; we’re only half-way there; he has to propose a new commisison with competent people.” French liberal Jean-Louis Bourlanges chaired the Civil Liberties Committee that rejected Italy’s commissioner Rocco Buttiglione:“It is not for the parliament to impose conditions, per se. To each his own role; Mr Barroso is in charge of proposing a Commission. He has, manifestly, withdrawn the proposal he had made because it was inadequate. Now he’ll make us another proposal. Will he want to change it a bit, a lot, not at all, drastically… I don’t know!” Finding a solution that will suit all sides is like a political Rubic’s cube for Europe. Many would like to see Buttiglione bow out.
Euronews is no longer accessible on Internet Explorer. This browser is not updated by Microsoft and does not support the last technical evolutions. We encourage you to use another browser, such as Edge, Safari, Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.