Mandela prize: the UN awards it for the first time

The first United Nations Nelson Mandela Prize will be given to Namibian ophthalmologist Dr. Helena Ndume and former Portuguese president Jorge Sampaio.

Ndume is known for her charitable work among sufferers of eye-related illnesses in Namibia and Sampaio is known for his work to establish democracy in Portugal during his presidency between 1996 and 2006.

The prize is presented every five years to honor outstanding achievements of one man and one woman.
View on euronews