3 EU regions sign 'Under 2 MOU' to limit global warming

Access to the comments Comments
By Euronews
3 EU regions sign 'Under 2 MOU' to limit global warming

Three EU regions have agreed to limit climate change.

France’s Rhone-Alpes, Scotland and Spain’s Basque County have signed the “Under 2 MOU,“a memorandum of understanding aiming to keep global warming at less than two degrees Celcius.

Representatives have been attending a climate conference in the French city of Lyon.

French President Francois Hollande addressed hundreds of elected officials from cities, regions and provinces attending the meeting.

It comes ahead of the “Paris 2015” conference on climate change planned for later this year.

The commitments and proposals made in Lyon will be presented the United Framework Convention on Climate Change.

“We are currently negotiating an agreement for people already affected today by climate change,” explained Yves Mathieu. Yes, there will be an agreement, the population is ready. There are no longer any differences between the south, north, east and west .. we get the same type of solutions; the people now want a comprehensive, fast agreement, for 100 years.”

So far, 17 regions in 9 countries have committed to the “Under 2 MOU” agreement.

“Six months ahead of the big climate conference in Paris, the cities and regions summit entered the thick of things here in Lyon,” reported euronews correspondent Fabien Farge. “The local authorities are on the front line of global warming and intend to weigh in on these negotiations by making their eagerly awaited voices heard.”