Now Reading:

Venezuela wins seat on UN Security Council


Venezuela wins seat on UN Security Council

Five countries have won seats on the United Nations Security Council.

Venezuela, Malaysia, Angola, New Zealand and Spain won the votes of two thirds of the UN General Assembly to secure their two year terms.

The approval a major turnaround for Venezuela, which failed in a previous bid to sit on the Security Council in 2006 when Hugo Chavez was president.

The terms begin on January 1 2015.

Every story can be told in many ways: see the perspectives from Euronews journalists in our other language teams.

Next Article

world news

Hong Kong protest site raided