Now Reading:

EU marks 10th anniversary of 2004 enlargement

brussels bureau

EU marks 10th anniversary of 2004 enlargement

EU institutions have marked the 10th anniversary of the bloc’s biggest enlargement in recent history.

On the 1st of May 2004, 10 new countries joined the EU.

They were: Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia.

“Accession benefited both countries joining the EU and established member states. Enlargement boosted growth and improved living standards in the acceding countries,” said EU enlargement commissioner Stefan Füle.

Whilst those in Brussels hail the 2004 EU enlargement as a resounding success, the real answer is likely to come at the forthcoming European elections.

Every story can be told in many ways: see the perspectives from Euronews journalists in our other language teams.

Next Article

brussels bureau

Rivals for Brussels top job mark out territory live on Euronews