Now Reading:

Cannes film festival jury announced

world news

Cannes film festival jury announced


The jury for the Cannes film festival has been announced.

American director Sofia Coppola and China’s Jia Zhangke have been selected among the nine jury members.

The festival organizers announced the four men and four women who will select the honorees at the May event alongside this year’s president Jane Campion.

New Zealander Campion is the only female director to have won the festival’s top prize, the Palme d’Or, which she secured with her 1993 film “The Piano.”

Jia won the Cannes best screenplay prize last year for “A Touch of Sin,” while Coppola won a best screenplay Oscar in 2003 for “Lost in Translation.”

Completing the jury are actress Carole Bouquet of France, American actor Willem Dafoe, Danish director Nicolas Winding Refn, actor-director Gael Garcia Vernal of Mexico, Iranian actress Leila Hatami and Jeon Do-yeon of South Korea.

Eighteen films are vying for the Palme d’Or.

Every story can be told in many ways: see the perspectives from Euronews journalists in our other language teams.

Next Article