Dakar Rally: Al-Attiyah wins stage ten

Now Reading:

Dakar Rally: Al-Attiyah wins stage ten

Text size Aa Aa

Qatar’s Nasser Al-Attiyah won stage ten of the Dakar Rally on Wednesday following a 631-kilometre special from Iquique to Antofagasta in Chile.

The Mini driver celebrated his second win of the 35th edition of the race when he crossed over the finish line three minutes and 50 seconds clear of French teammate and defending champion Stephane Peterhansel.

Peterhansel – an 11 time winner in the bikes and cars combined – had another good day at the sandy office reducing the gap on overall leader Nani Roma of Spain to 2 minutes and 15 seconds.

The biggest casualty of the day was Spain’s 2010 winner Carlos Sainz.

The 51-year-old two time world rally champion injured himself when he crashed his SMG buggy out of the race.

Joan Barreda responded in the best possible way to his ironic 15-minute penalty for speeding the day before by winning stage ten in the motorcycle category.

It was his fourth stage win of this year’s race.

Compatriot Marc Coma who was fifth on the day still leads the overall standings just over 44 minutes clear of Barreda.