Dakar Rally: Barreda and Sainz win stage seven

Now Reading:

Dakar Rally: Barreda and Sainz win stage seven

Text size Aa Aa

Joan Barreda won stage seven of the Dakar rally on Sunday for his third victory of the 35th edition of the gruelling event.

Following the only rest day of the race on Saturday the 85 competitors in the bike category were back in action with a shortened 297-kilometre special between Salta in Argentina and Uyuni in Bolivia.

Barreda of Spain – who also won the first and third stage – crossed over the line ahead of compatriot Marc Coma and five time winner Cyril Despres of France in third.

Coma leads the overall standings 38 minutes and 14 second clear of Barreda.

The Spanish contingency were also in full swing in the car category which took the teams over a different course from the bikes – a 500-kilometre circuit around Salta.

2010 winner Carlos Sainz enjoyed the stage victory for his second triumph this edition.

He beat Nasser Al-Attiyah of Qatar and Mr Dakar Rally himself Stephane Peterhansel of France – an 11-time champion.

Spain’s Nani Roma who was fourth – leads the overall standings almost 32 minutes ahead of Peterhansel.

Monday’s eighth stage finishes in Calama in Chile, the third and final country visited in this year’s race.