Now Reading:

Spain rewards Asturias prize winners

world news

Spain rewards Asturias prize winners


Spain’s prestigious Asturias Awards have been officially presented to this year’s recipients.

In a ceremony full of pomp and pageantry in the Asturian capital of Oviedo, Crown Prince Felipe and Princess Letizia presided over the reception to honour those who have excelled in the fields of science, arts, or humanities.

The winner of the literature prize, Spanish writer, Antonio Munoz Molina, used his acceptance speech to deplore what he described as the growing gap between the haves and the have-nots, lamenting “a world where those with a job see their wages dwindle, while the better-off see their profits increase obscenely, in a country ravaged by a crisis in which those responsible go unpunished, while their victims receive no justice, where rectitude and a job well done are so often afforded less value than cheating”.

Among the night’s other award winners were Peter Higgs, Francois Englert and CERN, Europe’s nuclear research centre. They received the prize for technical and scientific research.

The Sports award went to Spanish golfer Jose Maria Olazabal, captain of the victorious Ryder Cup team which won the historic “Miracle of Medinah” last year.

US photographer Annie Leibovitz, received the Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities while Austrian film director Michael Haneke picked up the Asturias Award for the Arts.

The Prince of Asturias Award for Concord went to the Spanish Organisation for the Blind, ONCE and the International Cooperation prize was given to the Max Planck Society for the Advancement of Science.

Every story can be told in many ways: see the perspectives from Euronews journalists in our other language teams.

Next Article