Now Reading:

Nobel Prize for the Higgs boson visionaries


Nobel Prize for the Higgs boson visionaries

Peter Higgs of Britain and Francois Englert of Belgium have been awarded the 2013 Nobel Prize for physics.

Both theoretical physicists were among several scientists who predicted the existence of the Higgs boson particle, which explains why the most basic building blocks of the universe gain mass.

Englert spoke of his delight in winning the prize, but regretted his fellow boson theorist Robert Brout was no longer around to share the accolade: “Of course I am very happy to be given this award, but I have a certain regret that my colleague and lifelong friend Robert Brout is not here to share this award for the we work we did together,” he said.

The theories are key to understanding matter and the origins of the universe. Last year Scientists at CERN in Switzerland confirmed the existence of the Higgs boson also known as the ‘God particle’, so ending one of the biggest scientific hunts in history.

The elusive particle allows natures’ building blocks to stick together, slow down and from atoms.

Both men, now in their 80’s, have won major awards across the globe for their innovative and accurate work.

Every story can be told in many ways: see the perspectives from Euronews journalists in our other language teams.


China: Five dead after Typhoon Fitow sweeps through Zehjian and Fujian provinces in eastern China