Log in
Please enter your login details

Skip to main content

Breaking News
  • Nigerian election: Technical problems mean President Goodluck Jonathan is unable to register to vote – AFP
  • Crash A320 Germanwings: national mourning ceremony on April 1, Cologne Cathedral (Official) AFP
Facebook Twitter Google+ Reddit
Olazabal wins Asturias award
close share panel

Share this article

Twitter Facebook

The 17 member jury of the Asturias Award for sport has named golfer Jose Maria Olazabal as this years winner. They considered nineteen nominations from 12 different countries. This is the seventh of the eight international awards which are bestowed each year by the Prince of Asturias Foundation.

In 2012 Jose Maria Olazabal captained the European team to victory in the Ryder Cup. The team’s successful defence of the trophy at Medinah country club looked unlikely as they trailed the US 10 points to 6 going into the final day. It was Olazabal who is credited with engineering what is the greatest Ryder Cup comeback.

As a Ryder Cup player he was a winner on seven occasions from 1987 to 2006 and formed a famous partnership with his compatriot the late Seve Ballesteros.

As an individual his record on golf courses around the world is hugely impressive. A double Masters winner in Augusta in 1994 and 1999. Six PGA Tour titles, 23 on the European tour.

He turned professional in 1986 and was almost a constant presence in the top 10 Order of Merit in the 1990s.

More about:

Check out today's top stories